DIY wings shoes!! (Like ADIDAS wings shoes)

I made these a while ago, and no matter how much I want to, I can’t just go and keep it a secret forever, so here is how to make wings for your shoes!

I first saw the inspiration for this when UK girl band, Little Mix, tweeted a picture of their new ADIDAS Jeremy Scott shoes. And let me tell you, I fell in love with them!

Jeremy Scott partnered with ADIDAS to create these winged shoes which Little Mix wore.

adidas-originals-js-wings-fall-winter-2012-official-03

 

So these are the amazing shoes! I especially loved the wings on them so decided  to (some how) make them for my shoes. Now you’re probably thinking, ‘oh gosh, that looks far too hard!’ But let me tell you it is probably one of the easiest things you will ever make and it will definitely make your ordinary shoes the most fascinating thing in your wardrobe!

002

Here they are! I’ve gotten loads of comments and so many people have asked how to make it, so here are the instructions.

Equipment:

  • Duct tape in the colour of your choice (I like yellow 🙂 )
  • Duraseal or clear book covering
  • A Pen Knife
  • Scissors
  • A craft cutting board to cut out the wings
  • A permanent marker
  • The template – which I will post at the bottom of this page.

Instructions

Step 1: Lay the strip of duct tape sticky side down on the cutting board to accommodate the template width. (approx 15cm)

Step 2: Cut 2 more pieces the same way and stick them all together so they make a wide rectangular sheet of duct tape.

Step 3: Flip it over and do the same thing again. Now you should have a double sided rectangular sheet of duct tape.

Step 4: It’s best to do this during day time at a window. Hold the template against the window and trace the wings shape on to your duct tape sheet with the permanent marker.

NOW before you do step 5, I suggest covering your wings with DURASEAL or CLEAR BOOK COVERING. This will help protect your wings from becoming too dirty to clean and also stops the permanent marker from coming off because I’ve found it does not stick to duct tape very well. 😛

Step 5: Cut out the wings shape with your scissors and leave some space at the edges (1cm)

Step 6: Carefully cut some shoe lace holes in it for the shoes you want to use, with your pen knife.

Step 7: Now lace your wings on your shoes and you are ready to WOW!

-Emma

Oh! I almost forgot! Here’s the template you will need to use. (Or you can just get creative!)

wingstemplate_zps259effcc

Leave a reply...

