Red Velvet Dumb Dumb Costume Part 1: Apron

This year I have been given the most amazing opportunity to work at Armageddon Expo (New Zealand’s version of Comic Con). My company told me that I didn’t need to dress up, but I thought it would be a bit of a wasted opportunity if I didn’t.  I had so many ideas but they were either really cool cosplays and I wasn’t a fan enough, or I was a super fangirl and they were not every interesting cosplay ideas. Suddenly it occurred to me! What about Red Velvet? Every kpop fan knows their Dumb Dumb outfit!

It’s cute, it’s iconic and it’s not too complicated (I hope!…) 🙂

The only issue is that I have one week to make this, alongside assignments and studying for exams. Will I be able to pull it together in time? I don’t even know myself, I’ve only made part 1 still at this point! We will have to wait and see!

14741169_1209693739068730_302813389_n.jpg

14658309_1209693755735395_565620968_n.jpg

I decided to go with Seulgi’s yellow outfit primarily because I had some yellow fabric laying around at home and I did not want to have to spend more money than necessary and I am a poor student. But really, who doesn’t love yellow? (realistically a lot of people actually…)

Resources:

  • I used about 1.5m x 80cm of fabric.
  • A sewing machine
  • One spool of thread to match the colour of your fabric
  • Lots and lots of pins.
  • Scissors
  • An iron and ironing board

Process:

Step 1

Firstly I cut the bottom part of the apron. For this I cut two rectangles measuring 50cm by 38cm. Keeping them pinned right sides together, I rounded off the corners and stitched all along the sides and the bottom with 1cm seam allowance. I then snipped darts in the seam allowance so the corners would sit flat, turned the piece inside out and pinned and top stitched all along the edges to keep it neat. Then I ironed it.

img_2180img_2181img_2182img_2184img_2186img_2187img_2188img_2190

Step 2:

Next I cut the straps to go around the waist. Of course you can stop after this step, but I chose to go ahead and make the top half of the apron as well.

For the waist straps, I simply cut 2 long strips and 4 short strips of fabric. I sewed two short strips onto either end of the long strips and then ironed the seams flat. You will have to see at the very end how I attached it all once I made the top piece, however if you wish to stop here you will just need to skip step 3.

img_2193img_2195img_2196

Step 3:

For the top of the apron, I cut 2 rectangles 25cm x 38cm. After I put it altogether I looked at the images from the music video again and realised that the top is meant to be narrower than the bottom, but oh well, it’s too late to fix that now haha. The top of the bodice part has a curved neckline and I decided that the easiest way to make that would be to attach curved straps.

I traced 4 L-shaped pieces of fabric and ensured that I had a curved edge whilst cutting them. I made sure the strap section was 5cm wide and the bottom pat of the L was 12cm wide. This is because the bodice was 38cm wide, minus 1cm on each side for seam allowance gives 36cm, 36m divided into 3 gives 12cm.

I then cut an extra 4 pieces to make the straps longer to go across my back.

IMG_2198.JPGimg_2199

img_2197

For the straps, stitch the Ls to the additional lengths of fabric andiron the seams flat. With right sides together, sew along the long edges. Snip along the corner to ensure that the corner lays flat once inside out. Use a pen or a chopstick and turn right sides outwards. Pin and top stitch along the edges.

IMG_2200.JPGimg_2201IMG_2202.JPGIMG_2204.JPGIMG_2203.JPG

Sew along the sides of the bodice. Pin the L shaped straps inside in the corner facing inwards and sew along the top with a 1cm seam allowance. Turn right sides out and top stitch around all 3 sides. Iron out all creases.

IMG_2205.JPGimg_2207img_2209

Step 4

To attach the bodice, apron skirt and the waist straps, fold all pieces in half and mark with a pin. Match all the pins up for the centre line and pin the bodice, apron skirt and one waist strap together. Sew along with a 1.5cm seam allowance.

IMG_2210.JPGIMG_2211.JPG

Next, iron everything flat and both straps’ edges inwards with a 1.5cm seam allowance. Pin the two straps wrong sides together and before top stitching all the way around, cross the long shoulder straps behind and attach to the waist. Top stitch all the way around, folding the very ends of the waist strap in to create a diagonal corner.

IMG_2212.JPGIMG_2213.JPGIMG_2214.JPGimg_2215

Finished!

Once I complete the dress, I will post a photo of myself in full costume!

img_2216img_2217

Read Part 2: Dress here.

-Emma

 

 

One thought on “Red Velvet Dumb Dumb Costume Part 1: Apron

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Dumb Dumb Costume Part 2: Dress | One In A Million

Leave a reply...

