Spring/Summer Scarf DIY

After chokers have made their comeback, it seems that scarves and bandanas are having a moment as well. For a while though, I’ve seen so many people wearing beautiful silk scarves on the streets of fashion week and for me the look just exudes classiness and beauty.

Here’s a couple of images that inspired me.

I have been on the look out for a scarf for a while but wherever I go they are always so pricey. On a trip to the fabric store the other day, I was rummaging through the cut offs bin and there was pieces of fabric for less than $5! I snatched up this gorgeous piece for $3 and decided I would make it into the scarf I have always wanted.

IMG_2315.JPG

To make this scarf I used 100% polyester (which was extremely slippery and hard to sew) and then hemmed the edges. For hemming, I ironed the edges in 5mm and then folded it over again whilst sewing. I didn’t use pins because for me, that just made the process more difficult than it needed to be. Isn’t the print so gorgeous?

Here I am wearing it styled with a black tee and leather jacket. What do you think?

-Emma

Leave a reply...

