DIY Hair Straightener Bag

Is it sad to say that I’ve been storing my hair straightener in its box ever since I got it? That’s all well in itself, but that means that whenever I go travelling, I always end up wrapping it in clothes to protect it which honestly, is not the most glamorous or convenient solution.

I wanted my hair straightener bag to be padded to protect my hair straightener in my luggage, and heat proof so that I can put my hair straightener on top of it (not on the bench!) while I am doing my hair.

What better solution is there than to use an oven mitt?! The one I have used is $5 from K-Mart (a pretty good bargain if you ask me) 🙂

IMG_2759IMG_2760

I started by placing my hair straightener on top of the oven mitt to get the right length, and then trimmed the ends off the oven mitt to make it square.

IMG_2761IMG_2762

I then removed the bias binding from the entire oven mitt and the curved piece I had just cut off. In this process, I also removed the little loop as well as one of the black pockets on the end. I then trimmed and re-attached the bias binding.

IMG_2764IMG_2763IMG_2765

To finish off the case, I folded the side without the pocket up; and sewed down the two sides. To fasten the case closed, I stitched on some velcro.

IMG_2766IMG_2772

And this is the finished product! Turned out pretty good if you ask me! It will definitely make travelling a lot easier!

IMG_2770IMG_2771

-Emma

Leave a reply...

